Joanna Allen

+44 (0)1223 785264 jcallen@greenwoodsgrm.co.uk

View full profile →

Wealth Preservation Matters: Meet Joanna

Wealth Preservation / 26 March 2021

I have been a PA / secretary all my working life, mainly working for BT and Essex Police but 3½ years ago I had the opportunity to join a legal firm who specialised in family law, civil disputes and private client.  However, it was private client work that really grabbed my interest.

2½ years ago I joined Greenwoods GRM in their private client team in Cambridge (now the Wealth Preservation Team) initially as a legal secretary. I was promoted to Paralegal last year and I am enjoying the challenge and variety that my role brings. The most enjoyable part of my job is the client contact.

I really enjoy helping other people get their affairs in order, watching the relief that passes over them when their Will is signed, or knowing that they now have a Lasting Power of attorney in place which appoints someone they trust.

I continue to develop my skills every day – there is so much to learn but I have a great team around me who are always willing to share their knowledge, encouragement and help me to be the best Paralegal that I can be.

I work with a super friendly bunch of people in the Cambridge office and I am really looking forward to a long overdue get together when lockdown restrictions are finally lifted. Greenwoods GRM have an excellent IT infrastructure which has enabled us to work from home effectively and efficiently.  As well as holding client meetings virtually, the Wealth Preservation Team have held regular virtual catch ups – it is so important to ‘see’ each other and keep support and team morale going. I secretly like peeking inside each other’s houses!

Outside of work, I have a  passion for DIY and renovating houses. I am the daughter of a builder and have fond memories of helping my dad, including tiling a roof when I was 11 years old! I learned many skills from him – patience, perseverance and attention to detail being the key ones.  At weekends you will often find me plastering, tiling, wallpapering or painting. I have used the 2020/21lockdowns to my advantage and have cracked on with renovating our current house, which is now nearly complete.

 

I am also a carer for my mum, who is severely disabled, although the COVID-19 pandemic has meant I have had to temporarily stay away from her, which has been a really difficult challenge for both of us.

I enjoy travelling and have been lucky enough to travel the world with my husband completing many things on my ‘bucket list’ including swimming with wild dolphins at the Great Barrier Reef, roller skating in Central Park, parachuting in New Zealand and drinking Pina Coladas in the Maldives.

Preparing for a parachute jump in Queenstown, New Zealand
Feeding the kangaroos in Australia

 

Travelling on the Maid of the Mist boat at Niagara Falls.

 

Sign up call to action button

This update is for general purposes and guidance only and does not constitute legal or professional advice. You should seek legal advice before relying on its content. This update relates to the prevailing circumstances at the date of its original publication and may not have been updated to reflect subsequent developments. If you have general queries about our updates, please email: mailinglists@greenwoodsgrm.co.uk

Get in touch with us

Interested in finding out more? Use this form to let us know how to contact you and what you’d like to know, and we’ll get back to you.

Alternatively, contact anyone listed on our website direct, they will be happy to hear from you.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.